The Seven Sacraments are gifts from Jesus Christ Himself for the Sanctification of His Church.  "They are Baptism, Reconciliation, Eucharist, Confirmation, Marriage, Holy Orders and Anointing of the Sick.  The Seven Sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of the Christian life;  they give birth and increase, healing and Mission to the Christian's life of faith.  There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life."  CCC1210 

Please visit the Vatican's website dedicated to the Code of Canon Law for official church teaching regarding The Most Holy Eucharist:  Code of Canon Law - IntraText (